Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Windows 7


  • Please log in to reply
92 replies to this topic

#1 SeaWulf

SeaWulf
  • NEW MEMBER
  • 1 Posts

Posted 21 October 2009 - 02:58:31 PM

Has anyone had any experience with Windows 7 and OFF? Currently have Vista 64 bit and was wondering if OFF can be run under Windows 7?


Thanks in advance

#2 themightysrc

themightysrc
  • ELITE MEMBER
  • 1,235 Posts

Posted 21 October 2009 - 03:22:51 PM

Hi SW,

Don't know for sure, but apparently OFF runs happily on W7. Email the devs at ODB and I think they're likely to confirm this.

#3 Polovski

Polovski

    WOFF Developer

  • +DEVELOPER
  • 2,447 Posts

Posted 21 October 2009 - 05:00:31 PM

It's been asked several times in these forums, I'm running Win 7 64 bit for a couple of months and P3 runs fine.

--
Polovski

Wings: Over Flanders Fields
http://www.overflandersfields.com
Unique and immersive WWI Flight Simulation


#4 Von Paulus

Von Paulus
  • ELITE MEMBER
  • Political Arena
  • 1,970 Posts

Posted 21 October 2009 - 08:08:21 PM

Running perfectly in RC1 (32) for a couple of months.
I'll try next week on the final Home Premium.
Posted Image

#5 Siggi

Siggi
  • SENIOR MEMBER
  • 994 Posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 03:34:29 AM

I recieved and installed my copy of W7 (32-bit) yesterday. So far I've tested only CFS3 on it, and that runs fine apart from the FFB stick being totally fubar. I intend to get OFF installed today.
"Hussars! There's the horizon! Fly fast, fly hard, and cut down all who stand in your way!"

#6 UK_Widowmaker

UK_Widowmaker

    Excellent Lover, with a touch of Panache!

  • ELITE MEMBER
  • Political Arena
  • 7,155 Posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 07:03:14 AM

Working here too! (though I am loath to stick it on my 'bestest computer just yet!...it will happen though no doubt)
Posted Image

Compassion for Animals, is intimately connected with goodness of Character; and it may be confidently asserted that he who is cruel to animals, cannot be a good man - Schopenhauer

#7 Siggi

Siggi
  • SENIOR MEMBER
  • 994 Posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 07:22:52 AM

Looks like I'm stuffed. Zero FFB in OFF (including no spring-pretension whatsoever, which leaves the stick flopping about and useless) and in CFS3 it's either zero or the stick pulls fully back and stays there. I've installed the Saitek drivers "Vista & Windows 7" for both the stick and rudders, tried setting them in compatibility mode for "older programs" (in the Saitek properties window), calibrated them both in and out of the game, no joy (stick...har har). I get no throttle in OFF either (works in CFS3).

Anyone have any ideas, or is this a W7 thing? My stick is a Cyborg Force 3D by the way.
"Hussars! There's the horizon! Fly fast, fly hard, and cut down all who stand in your way!"

#8 Gromit

Gromit
  • JUNIOR MEMBER
  • 66 Posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 07:42:22 AM

As much as I'd like to upgrade to 7, I just downgraded back to XP from Vista, and OFF is now running beautifully. I'm not going to mess with it now.

When I build (or buy) a new rig, I'll upgrade then...
963rd Airborne Air Control Squadron
Tinker AFB, OK

Alles hat ein Ende...nur die Wurst hat zwei.

#9 Siggi

Siggi
  • SENIOR MEMBER
  • 994 Posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 10:18:12 AM

Oh well, simple solution was to go back to a non-FFB stick. Works fine now. :smile2:
"Hussars! There's the horizon! Fly fast, fly hard, and cut down all who stand in your way!"

#10 Creaghorn

Creaghorn
  • ELITE MEMBER
  • 1,356 Posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 10:49:25 AM

anybody else has this FFB problem with win7?
i'm waiting myself for a copy and losing FFB would be a too costly price for me.
i have a saitek evo force.
I'm a hunter. When I have killed a mosquito with my shoe, my hunting passion is satisfied for a quarter of an hour.

#11 Axgrinder

Axgrinder
  • VALUED MEMBER
  • 416 Posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 12:46:45 PM

I could be wrong but - didn't some players say that OFF MP does NOT work in
W7?

Can anyone confirm or deny this?
YOU can be the SHEEP or the WOLF! I will be the HUNTER! Posted Image

#12 Siggi

Siggi
  • SENIOR MEMBER
  • 994 Posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 12:59:21 PM

I deleted all the control assigments except the axis, which improved things (the throttle worked at least) but the stick was still very sloppy and gave FFB only under extreme maneouvers. Zero centering force to talk of. The thing is it was never that good under XP either. The stick works ok in W7, just not in the game (CFS3 and OFF).

The stick I'm using now has a good centre-spring, so all I'm really missing is the MG rumble (if I keep telling myself that I won't miss the FFB so badly).
"Hussars! There's the horizon! Fly fast, fly hard, and cut down all who stand in your way!"

#13 UK_Widowmaker

UK_Widowmaker

    Excellent Lover, with a touch of Panache!

  • ELITE MEMBER
  • Political Arena
  • 7,155 Posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 01:05:47 PM

Well, having not used a FFB stick, there's nothing for me to miss...though I think I will be with XP for a while yet (just until the dust settles)
Posted Image

Compassion for Animals, is intimately connected with goodness of Character; and it may be confidently asserted that he who is cruel to animals, cannot be a good man - Schopenhauer

#14 Siggi

Siggi
  • SENIOR MEMBER
  • 994 Posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 04:21:02 PM

Please excuse my rudeness, but I'm grasping at straws, in the vain attempt to stay afloat. I also use the Cyborg EVO, but without the program. And a Logitech Gaming Keyboard to replace that terrible throttle placement on the EVO

If the FFB works that way, I predict the sales of the Logitech to skyrocket

And to be doublely insulting, please doublecheck FFB, allowed in Workshop


How do you mean, "without the program"? You mean the separate programming software or the drivers?

And yes, FFB was enabled in the Workshop and in the CFS3/OFF Manager control window. I think it's pretty much a case of MS farmed-out the netcode and FFB code in CFS3 to some bunch of shonky 3rd-rate programmers like Bohemia Interactive.
"Hussars! There's the horizon! Fly fast, fly hard, and cut down all who stand in your way!"

#15 Siggi

Siggi
  • SENIOR MEMBER
  • 994 Posts

Posted 23 October 2009 - 05:02:16 AM

Yes, without anything, the joystick is supposed to be 'plug and play' so plug in the USB and let Windows provide the driver, if there's no FFB then, there is no hope

All calibration will be via the control panel > Properties

Any assignments of Button Function, will be provided in the Controls of OFF


I'll give that a go, but I'm pretty sure I gave the stick a go in W7 before I loaded the drivers and there was nada going on with it.
"Hussars! There's the horizon! Fly fast, fly hard, and cut down all who stand in your way!"

#16 JimAttrill

JimAttrill
  • SENIOR MEMBER
  • Royal Air Force
  • 853 Posts

Posted 23 October 2009 - 05:36:09 AM

I quite honestly can't see the point of 'upgrading' to 7 if you have XP. It doesn't seem to do anything over and above XP that I want. And XP is stable. Although maybe I am biased because I have a Volume License Copy of XP which doesn't have to be 'activated'.

gallery_46698_678_18373.jpg


#17 Wels

Wels
  • VALUED MEMBER
  • 371 Posts

Posted 23 October 2009 - 05:40:43 AM

Just ask Micro$oft:

Posted Image

Greetings,
Catfish
Still losing wings now and then ..

#18 Gromit

Gromit
  • JUNIOR MEMBER
  • 66 Posts

Posted 23 October 2009 - 05:48:27 AM

I think it's pretty much a case of MS farmed-out the netcode and FFB code in CFS3 to some bunch of shonky 3rd-rate programmers like Bohemia Interactive.


I believe that's BOHICA Interactive you're thinking of. :grin:
963rd Airborne Air Control Squadron
Tinker AFB, OK

Alles hat ein Ende...nur die Wurst hat zwei.

#19 hairyspin

hairyspin
  • JUNIOR MEMBER
  • 94 Posts

Posted 25 October 2009 - 10:15:28 AM

I could be wrong but - didn't some players say that OFF MP does NOT work in
W7?

Can anyone confirm or deny this?


Can't comment on BHaH, but P2 and CFS3 itself don't work on the pre-release versions of Windows 7. I've tried it with both 32-bit and 64-bit versions and CTD is the result every time. The 'Vista fix' for CFS3 doesn't help either.

I don't know about the final code for Windows 7, my copy is still with the carrier.
Flying is easier if one avoids the edges - ground, water, outer space and other things in the air

#20 Siggi

Siggi
  • SENIOR MEMBER
  • 994 Posts

Posted 25 October 2009 - 10:23:25 AM

I quite honestly can't see the point of 'upgrading' to 7 if you have XP. It doesn't seem to do anything over and above XP that I want. And XP is stable. Although maybe I am biased because I have a Volume License Copy of XP which doesn't have to be 'activated'.


I need to learn W7 for my work, but it just so happened that the day before W7 arrived I started to get multiple crashes in at least three games with the dreaded "nv4_disp" error. That was after I'd been trying lots of different drivers with my new GTX285, and it had clearly corrupted the OS.

I am getting minor jerks and stutters with OFF in W7, despite very high FPS, something that didn't happen under XP with a lesser card (GTX8800), but it's not a show-stopper, just irritating.
"Hussars! There's the horizon! Fly fast, fly hard, and cut down all who stand in your way!"




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests