themightysrc

Thoroughly OT! But please help

Hi everyone,

Sorry that I've been quiet of late, but things are moving apace with regard to work(or lack of it, rather).

As some of you may know, I'm doing a Java course by correspondence, and although I'd planned to have it finished by now, it's taking forever, and in its infinite wisdom Her Majesty's government have deemed that I shouldn't be getting my "lifestyle choice" £67.50p a week Job Seeker's Allowance any longer, so I've been forced to think afresh to keep the wolf from the door.

So, I've decided - given that I have about 20 years IT experience and a PGCE (teaching certificate), I've decided to, gulp, start my own business teaching others low to use their PCs in the comfort of their own homes and at their own pace.

I'm hoping to get this going in the next week or three (before Xmas), but I'll need a new PC with Windows 7 and Office 2010 on it to be able to teach others how to use their PCs. Now I could nip down PC World or go to Dell's site to source a PC, but given that I'm skint, I really need to be able to get the new rig together as cheaply as possible - which is where you guys come in.

I need this to be a workhorse, but I also, of course, want to be able to run OFF on it, including the forthcoming P4!

I need suggestions from you chaps as to what mobo I should get, what video card, what memory (and how much). Once I've got these, then I'll either source all the bits and build it myself, or contact someone who can do a custom built machine for me (any suggestions for good builders/suppliers gratefully accepted).

This is a big, big step for me, and I want to get it spot on, but without spending a prohibitive amount of cash along the way.

Gents - the floor is yours, and you have my eternal thanks for your suggestions.

Cheers,

Si