Sign in to follow this  
CowboyTodd41

Interview with WhiteBoySamurai

WhiteBoySamurai is one our most well respected modders here on the site, without him SF2NA wouldn't be nearly as interesting (or nearly as dangerous!)

Hey, thanks for taking time out for me and the guys here at the site. A couple of starters real quick, where are you from, and what do you do for a living?

I'm in my early 30s. I was born and raised in Boston, MA, and later spent a large portion of my life in Hawaii. I've been living in Nagoya, Japan for almost 5 years now. Right now I'm doing English/Japanese translation, interpretation, and second-language education.

How did you end up in Japan?

I've always been interested in Japan, actually, and I studied the language in college. The big economic crash ended up giving me an excuse to live and work here. To make a long story short, I had been doing contract work in Hawaii that was steadily turning sour, but I got an offer from a Japanese firm that gave me better job security. I sold everything I couldn't pack or store and made Japan my new home.

So what was it exactly that got you into doing naval objects, as opposed to aircraft or weapons?

My grandfather was an engineer in the US Navy during WWII. He used to tell me vivid stories about the big battleships, how the guns worked, how they'd do shock tests on the deck and hull, the combination of brute force, heavy armor, and precision machinery. It was all very fascinating to me. I ended up working in his machine shop for a while, helping make ball bearings that were to be used in gun turrets and other components for the military. Some of my earliest memories are of going to airshows with him, so he's probably responsible for my love of military aircraft and flight sims too.

What are some of your favorite ships/aircraft?