Someone requested a tutorial on how I create model ships. While I’m not a pro by any stretch of the imagination, hopefully the information I provide here will be useful for new modders who want to try creating some vehicles for Strike Fighters.

For this tutorial, I will be creating a relatively small and simple model , the C-14 China Cat class fast attack craft.

9f93348e76a9342f.jpg

Though designed and built in China, the Iranian Navy uses a large amount of these boats with many different weapon configurations, so they will be a nice object to have in the various Middle Eastern terrains.

When making a model, I think it’s a good idea to have some general goals in mind for how you want it to be used and how you intend for it to turn out. My goals when making this model are the following:

• Fast turnaround (because I have a massive backlog of mods already)
  • Low complexity (so that nearly anyone’s computer can display a lot of them at once)
  • Modularity (so I can easily create variants with different weapons as used by the real thing)
I am not terribly concerned with photorealistic accuracy in this case. I imagine these boats will be cannon fodder for most players, and I don’t envision anyone scrutinizing the model’s minor details like what often happens with flyable aircraft mods.

Tools:

To create this model, I will be using 3DS Max 2009, because that’s what the Thirdwire Exporter requires, and GIMP, because even though it has the worst user interface of any program made by man, I can’t afford alternatives like Photoshop. (Sure, GIMP is “powerful” I suppose, but it’s like a bent rocket with no fins.)

Note: You can still build models using other versions of Max or even its freeware cousin Gmax, though in those cases you’d need to send the model to someone with 2009 and the exporter. And you can certainly use other paint programs—In fact you really should if at all possible, because GIMP is absolute rubbish.

Step 1: Set up your diagrams