Sign in to follow this  
griphos

MP in Vista

Hey all,

Okay, so I'm a noob at this multiplayer business, and I hope those who know more will correct any errors in this thread. But I thought it might help to post about settings for MP in Vista. Might want to do a sticky at some point when we've got it all hammered out.

Anyway, it took me quite a bit of troubleshooting, but here's how I finally had to set things up to run MP in Vista.

First, it doesn't work for me from the OFF Manager. I get to the place where the manager launches CFS3.exe and it gives me an error message. I know some people can run MP from the OFF Manager, but I think they are running XP, and besides, when you get dumped out of a game while in Manager, it takes more steps to get back in.

So, I think it is best, and I have to run MP from a shortcut on my desktop which points to my CFS3MP.exe (NOT my CFS3.exe) file in my CFSWW1 Over Flanders Fields folder. Once this shortcut is created, right click and select Properties and then the Compatibility tab. Check the box for "Run this program in compatibility mode:" and make sure that "Windows XP (Service Pack 2)" is in the dialog box. I also checked the box for "Run this program as an administrator."

If you try to launch MP directly from the CFS3.exe or by a shortcut to that, it will seem to work fine from your end, I think, but you won't be able to connect. You will probably get a "Can't connect to the internet" error message. You may also get a mismatch planes error message, even if you don't in fact have mismatched planes.

In Vista, if you also want to use TrackIR in MP mode, you have to make sure that you launch TrackIR with "Run this program as an administrator" also selected in Properties/Compatibility. (Or at least I do.)

Just to be safe, you may want to make sure that CFS3.exe and Off manager.exe (both in CFSWW1 Over Flanders Fields) are also set to Run as administrator.