Sign in to follow this  
pzkpfw

Trouble installing a cockpit

I've had the MiG-21 PFM Fishbed-F for awhile and I just downloaded the F/PF/PFM cockpit for it by Paladrian, but I'm having trouble installing it. The instructions are a little vague for me (I'm very new to this game and modding community, if it weren't for the weapons pack I'd be screwed). It says its a self-extracting .rar, and to extract it in the main game directory. I have WOE, and the readme only mentions Project 1 and WOV, so is that the problem? Because when I extracted the file where it told me to I basicly just ended up with the files scattered around in my MiG-21PFM Aircraft folder. I was under the impression that all of the modifications are universal to SFP1, WOV, and WOE. And when I started the game to see if anything changed, I had two completely new MiG-21s in my drop down menu that were never mentioned at all by the readme. I'm really confused.

One of the all-embracing reasons to extract to a temp folder ---

I'd start over, deleting the obvious addon, then unzip it to a temp folder.

Intallling the cockpit is a really straightforward affair -- there's even a thread about it in the Knowledge Base "Adding Cockpit to them Pesky MiGs" or something like that...

1) unzip to aformentioned temp folder

2) select with mig to update, for instance the 21MF

3) copy/paste the approiate 'cabina' folder into the MF's main folder

4) copy/paste the approiate "Cabina_**.ini" to the MF main folder

5) open the MiG-21MF.ini, and add the necessary lines --

This is directly from mine:

[AircraftData]

AircraftFullName=MiG-21MF Fishbed-J

AircraftDataFile=MIG-21MF_DATA.ini

CockpitDataFile=Cabina_MiG-21MF.INI

HangarScreen=21MF_Hangar.bmp

LoadingScreen=Imagen02_MiG-21MF.bmp

LoadoutImage=Imagen00_MiG-21MF.bmp

LoadoutFile=MiG-21MF_loadout.ini

AvionicsDLL=Avionics60.dll <---

AvionicsDataFilename=Avionica_MiG-21MF.INI <--- these last 2 line are VERY critical to getting working radar and rwr