Format C:\

I'm about to install XP Pro on my Gamer

But seeing that I'm not a computer wiz, I thought I'd ask for some advice

My plan is to transfer all documents/downloads to the D:\ HD

I suppose I should save all drivers but not sure where their all at

Next do the Format C:\ command then pop the XP Pro disk in

Any helpful tips would be greatly appreciated

Beers are on me drinks.gif

Hmmmmm. Formatting your C:/ is worth thinking about HARD. It'll erase everything, and having copies of documents, drivers etc is hit or miss affair, since many have to be installed, not just copied or they maybe won't work fully. There are often dll files installed or altered, but with no obvious connection to the utility that uses them.

I'm not a PC expert, but I'm sure there must be a way to update your operating system without the format.

On the other hand, if you're happy to re-install everything, (and pay special attention to your CD Rom driver - or you'll be going nowhere). The format will blitz everything, so you'll have a blank canvas.

A complete format is a big step, and I'd exhaust all other options first.

Edited by Flyby PC

Guest rscsjsuso5

this is my first time on an OFF board i'm mostly a thirdwire person but to help out couldn't resist i would suggest if u have 2 HDs then make your old HD the slave and the new HD the master by following simple instructions on the HD sticker on the HD . u said u are going to transfer data/downloads/drivers to d: drive it is up to u but if u want to start off with a new HD then it will be labor intensive to transfer drivers etc from old to new while making your computer structure as HD1 c drive master HD2 d drive slave and thus your cd/dvd roms. u said are going to format make sure u change the bios boot so that it detect the winxp cd then u would either do a clean install or repair install up to you.