Hi, all, and thanks for the responses on setting up merged SF2. I am glad to get back into this game after a couple years. I'm the guy that still has the original walmart "bootleg" CD.

I am having a significant problem with stability in the game responding to joystick commands. I have a lot of experience with the CH combatstick, throttle, pedals and it is set up and generating proper commands and working fine in other sims. alt + right arrow key for example, will send the commands "alt right arrow" and it's all accurate by testing. what happens in the game is that at times it responds only to the 3 axis and doesn't respond to mapped keys. other times it redesignates the device order such that joystick is USB 1 one time, and USB 3 the next time I try to play. Sometimes it won't even respond to keys sent from my keyboard as if the keyboard stopped working (it hasn't)! Without changing anything i can exit the game, restart it, and it may work fine the next time. Then nada. I. The game appears to be making all sorts of random changes in game control responses.

I have forgotten a lot about opening cat files for mods etc and don't even know if that needs to be done. i have checked and rechecked the default.ini in the saved games subfolder. i did not load the march hotfix; however, because my SF2 merge was just updated to 4/2012.

Any help is appreciated. It's an awesome game but no fun w/o HOTAS control, or, at times, not even direct keyboard control.

Thanks, Mark Davis

What patch are you at now?

The March hotfix fixed a few control mapping problems - which was why it was rushed out - so advise you get that asap