Sign in to follow this  
GHunter

Lozenge Camo question.

Greetings all! Since I got the game up and running I haven't been here much. I had a question though that I thought people here might have the answer to. I have several WWI aircraft kits and some of the German craft require lozenge camo on the wing and other surfaces. Shopping for decals, I find both 4 color and 5 color patterns. What is the reason? Is it date, like 4 color was early variant and 5 later? I have an early series FokkerD7 kit that I may do in almost complete lozenge camo. 4 color or 5? What would go on a Hanover, and what on a Fokker D6?

Thanks G.

On another note, since I started playing OFF, I have "met" several famous people. Today, while flying for RNAS 10, I was on the tail of an Albatros DIII when suddenly my plane is hit from behind. I got my tail fethers shot up by Ramond Collishaw who was trying to steal my kill. A few days ago, I got shot down by Raoul Lufberry. I had a rather decent career going with that pilot in late 1916 flying an Albatros DII for Jasta 2. Now he's a POW for the duration. During a scrammble mission, that pilot also assited MVR by shooting a Dh2 of his six. I have only one pilot so far that has made it to 17 hrs. flying time.

Such questions may find their best answers over at the "Aerodrome" website.

http://www.theaerodrome.com/forum/camouflage-markings/50081-4-vs-5-color-lozenge.html

Just type into the search window there: Lozenge - and you will get more about this.

As far as I know, both 4-colour and 5-colour were used at the same time.

The main reason for Lozenge screen-printed fabric was saving weight - the camo sheme

didn't have to get attached with the heavier paint.

That doesn't really work Al, the lozenge camo was a fabric, they have samples of it at the Smithsonian. So if you were to change it from Summer to Winter you would have to recover the surfaces, of course that would probably been faster than trying to paint them by hand.

Beard