Skyviper

CombatACE Spotlight: Interview with Typhoid

Interview With Typhoid

“I think CombatACE is a community of people from across the world that have come together on a collection of flight simulations … This is a fun place to come hang out for a bit.” 

?module=images&section=img_ctrl&img=2676In this week’s CombatACE spotlight we shine the light on Typhoid. He’s a retired Naval Flight Officer, a modder, an elected official, and has been a member here at CombatACE since 2006. He has also released a number of files, over the years that have collectively accumulated over thirty thousand downloads. He’s even made a very special campaign that has been downloaded over two thousand times.

Thank you for taking the time to do this interview with us, Typhoid. To start off, can you tell us a little bit about yourself? 

I am a retired Naval Flight Officer and then did another 18 years as a defense contractor and task lead supporting NORAD, US Space, AF Space, NORTHCOM, STRATCOM, and AFC2ISR Center.  Counting my active duty and contractor time, I spent 15 years in NORAD J3 including 9/11 and a lot of work after 9/11 on upgrading NORAD command and control systems. 

I also earned a commercial, single and multi-engine with an Instrument rating as well as single and multi-engine instructor rating. 

I didn’t do very much flying with that but the experience helped me a lot in my Navy flying since I also flew co-pilot on a number of occasions when land based.  

I ran for office starting in January of this year and was elected to a four year term on the Colorado Springs City Council, which includes service on the board of directors of CS Utilities.  This keeps me busy in my retirement!  

Busy indeed. How long have you served in the Navy and what was your role while serving?