Sign in to follow this  
ordway

How do I change instrument's location and size?

I am completely new to this. I have looked on three forums (Combat ace, SimHQ and Thirdwire) and not found understandable answers. How do I change an existing instrument or switch in an existing instrument panel's):

1. Instrument/switch's Size

2. Instrument/switch's Position

3. or just eliminate it?

What editing program/s do I need (G-max, notepad or others?).

What files do I need (Cockpit.ini, avionics.ini or others).

What do I edit in that particular file.

What do I need to do after that to make it work?

Any help is much appreciated. :blink:

Thanks,

I'd suggest looking at Lexx_Luthor's "Cockpit Mods" thread over at the 3rd Wire boards. It explains the 'moves' idea.

As to resizing an insturment, that's not possible without the Max file -- that can only be done in the 3d programs.

You can only "move" insturments in the up/down and left/right postions...how he's gotten the positions/measurments (ie: distance up/down or right/left) to do so I can only guess -- probalby by much trial and error.

You move items via cockpit ini edits.

Wrench

kevin stein

Guest capun

I think you need to change the 3D Model

You may be able to use the mesh movement trick, look at other posts for this trick. I think Lex_Luthor's has done and a few others. You also need to know the Gauge parent mesh. For example the Altimeter Case could be the parent and have the face and needles as its children meshes

3. or just eliminate it?

You may be able to use the trick of moving the instrument away via the cockpit ini. But you need to be sure that there is no hole left in the background panel

Source files are normally 3DS Max, at least at the end there must be a one since the LOD exporter only works in 3DS Max.

But you could use another 3D Model and have some one export it

If it is a removal via the cockpit ini, Notepad works

What files do I need (Cockpit.ini, avionics.ini or others)