Sign in to follow this  
Stiffy

RFC uniform on a budget!

Ok, many of you know that I'm a mature student and as such not the wealthiest of people. For a while now I've wanted a replica ww1 uniform but have never had the cash.

A month and a half ago I quit smoking and as an extra incentive I've decided to spend the savings on myself.

So I have set myself a challenge to see if it is possible to put together something resembling an RFC uniform without paying out for expensive repros or originals. I think I should make it clear that I am not going for 100% authentic, just something that looks the part for fancy dress etc... but would not stand up to the great war society!

This is what I have gathers so far for a few quid here and there.....

Firstly I already had the replica wings ( put a post about it a while back) but have added a very good replica of the cap badge (is very authentic as has metal spikes instead of loops and pins, had an original raf one which had spikes).

As it there is currently noone producing replica RFC buttons and a genuine set sells for around £100 I have decided to use general service buttons, these where used in ww1 whenever there was no regimental button available. All the buttons are originals, hard to date as pattern didnt change but more likely from ww2, managed to find a full set from the same maker so match perfectly.

Costume01.jpg

I managed to find a mint condition unissued service cap. This is Nato surplus but very little has changed in the pattern since ww1. I will fit 2 service buttons to the sides and the cap badge to the front, still need to find a ww1 style strap for it though.

Costume02.jpg