Sign in to follow this  
Lt. James Cater

Looking For Inexpensive Reliable Laptop

I'm just beginning my search so i figured i'd ask here too.

I'm at Grand Canyon North Rim for the next few months and then it's off to either Zion or Big Bend National park until next June. One thing about being in these places is communications is rather sketchy (My cell phone doesn't even work here)and sometimes the boredom can be staggering, hence the heavy drinking that is rather common amongst employees. Anyways, we have WIFI here and considering the crap state of the community computers here i figured i better do like many others and get a laptop to keep up with things and while away the times without drowning in a tidal wave of beer.

Might as well do a lot of poker as well as doing some kind of blog.

Any suggestions to something cheap and reliable? I've owned a number of computers but this will be my first ever laptop so i'm sorta flying blind on this.

I'm partial to HP/Compaq my self and if your not looking top end they are fairly inexpensive esp. Presario. but they still allow you to work the game fairly well(with exception of NA possibly, got my new one just before it came out) how fancy do you want it is the big first question? and are you looking to buy in a store or online?

wife's acer was good til kids spilled Coke on it.... SquareTrade did fix it on warranty but my knuckleheaded self for got to make a recovery disk. whole OS gone with the hard drive. getting a recovery disc from Acer but still kinda sore about it.

Must admit I love Dell have them at work and as the IT Manager they make my life easier... depends what you want to do with it as well... and my laptop at home is an older model Dell...