Is anybody flying OFF on Windows 8 yet?

A computer system administrator gave me the advice: wait for a year or so, before you buy Windows 8.

That should be the time they usually need to fix their usual problems.

I'm trying out Windows 8 (for my job)

Not tried OFF yet...but W8 just looks like a Windows phone! :)

Isn't the maxim something like "They get every other version right?" So 98, XP and 7 were good, while 2000 and Vista were dogs.... Hasse Wind, I think you're on to something there...

Edited by HumanDrone

You left out Millenium HumanDrone.

What a wonderful piece of software that was..................................................................... not :biggrin:

Thanks for the replies.I am working on a new rig.I am still on XP on my present rig.I suppose Windows 7 would be the logical choice for the new one.

Thanks all.

I'm not an expert at all; I can only tell, that OFF is running fine on my Windows 7.

I recommend to make the essential updates every now and then, to give Microsoft

the chance to improve their product. No problems here.

As for AntiVirus Protections: everyone should make sure he is only using ONE;

and to have the "gaming mode" or "fullscreen mode" activated in his/her AV.

That will cause those programs to postpone all non-essential tasks; and that will

make a sim run much smoother.

Windows 8 deprecates DirectX 9, and AMD/ATI will no longer support it with their drivers. NVIDIA may continue DX9 support in its desktop drivers for a while, but not mobile graphics chips in laptops and such. Since CFS3 requires DX9, you may be able to run OFF under Windows 8 with a NVIDIA desktop graphics card until they drop support, fingers crossed, otherwise you're SOL.

As to why you'd want to install a phone OS on a desktop computer in the first place, I have no idea.

As to why you'd want to install a phone OS on a desktop computer in the first place, I have no idea.

That's very easy to answer...consistency of experience.