Sign in to follow this  
eraser_tr

Car on the fritz

Just two weeks after getting it back from the shop for a new muffler, my car is acting up on me again :fie:

Now my brakes aren't working, apparently I'm leaking hydraulic fluid. At this rate, its becoming almost once a month something new needs fixing, and its about time to get a new car.

So I'm shopping around. I'm dead set against a nissan, as thats what I have now. Aweful sensors, check engine light is always on and there's always something going wrong even if the engine and transmission are practically indestructable. Toyottas rust like hell. Everyone suggests a Honda Civic, my brother has one, the few times I've driven it, I hated it, awkward frustrating and uncomfortable. Also, I'd rather avoid a civic because I'm a college student, and if you look at the parking lot its just a damn alternating pattern of civics, VW jettas, subaru WRXs, mitsubishis and dodge neons. I want to actually be able to recognize my car instead of having the stereotypical tween car.....nor do I want to get profiled as a reckless young driver, which is why I got a nissan maxima in the first place.

I'm looking for car experiences and advice. Digging around I've seen a few nice choices, a couple of nice hyundai sonatas and XG350s in my price range , like the look of a few chryslers (sebring and concord) too. There's also a Jaguar xj8 thats listed as the same price as a civic my father pointed out, the worry there is maintenance costs (but I love jaguars!). So does anybody have any experience driving/maintaining any of these cars, or have any suggestions?

• Dislike 1

Go drive a Civic Si and your opinion of them will probably change...

I just added a Subaru to my fleet - I like it!

(the all wheel drive is sort of important here in the Rockies)

Edited by Typhoid

I've owned a Toyota of one type or another since 1993, my parents and other family members since 1978, and we've never had one rust. Ever. Anywhere.