Hello all, I've been working on an F-5a freedom fighter, and I'm almost finished the model. Still have to map it, do animations etc.. but I'm new to strike fighters modeling and am trying to get all the information I can. How many polys are too many? I reckon the external model will take about 35K polys .. Is this too many? There are plans for much smaller lods.

Regards

post-37542-0-34620600-1335217213.jpg

post-37542-0-92874300-1335217244.jpg

I'll have to let someone else answer the question about poly count in the current versions of the game, but I wanted to say that your model looks fantastic.

Polycount is great, especially if yup plan sub-lods :good:

And the model looks awsome :drinks:

Hmmm I started to look into how many polys some of my new stuff has and stumbled over this little nugget

If you do the points for exhaust lights etc and hide them as normal when u export...the out file lists them also the extents...useful or what?...lol

f-4e_5.bmp

( 19) glass:

Transparency enabled

CANOPYGLASS.TGA

( 20) 19 - Default:

slimeroff.tga

( 21) Material #3:

Self-illumination enabled

slimer.tga

( 22) _4 matte:

Specular=0.00, Glossiness=0.00, Color:<0,0,0>

Reflection=0.00

f-4e_4.bmp

( 23) Material #5:

Transparency enabled

F-4J_AFTERBURNER.TGA

11 Textures:

f-4e_1.bmp

f-4e_4.bmp

F-4E_DAMAGE1.TGA

f-4e_3.bmp

f-4e_2.bmp

F-4E_DAMAGE2.TGA

f-4e_5.bmp

CANOPYGLASS.TGA

slimeroff.tga

slimer.tga

F-4J_AFTERBURNER.TGA

Point01=-2.99,-7.05,1.96

Extents

Very realistic model, great work Sophocles!

I hope a hellenic skin to be included in your plans!

Thank you gentlemen for your kind words :blush: truly honoured to get comments from some of the greats of this sim; Column 5, Brain32, Russouk2004 .. your work has provided me with inumerable hours of enjoyment!!. I'm so relieved the count will be ok. I'm actually looking forward the mapping so that I get to paint again (I'm actually a frustrated texture guy who then learned max ..)