Sign in to follow this  
column5

How Southern are yew?

hmm, I got 68% on the initial link, but got 100% on the associated advanced southern test.

Being raised in Charleston, SC probably threw the first test a bit.

33%. Sounds about right. Born in West Virginia, raised in Pennsylvania, worked my way westward to Nebraska.

(The one interesting one is "creek". "Licking Creek" was pronounced "Lickin' Crick" by my PA relatives.)

44% Dixie. Barely in Yankeedom.

Lived 18 years total in Texas. Also lived in Michigan, California, South Dakota, Massachusetts, Illinois, Wyoming and Turkey. Live of an AF Brat and being in the USAF too.

33% Dixie. You are definitely a Yankee.

Not surprised. I've lived in CA my hole life. Only southern state experience was going to Virginia for one weekend once for a Rugby tournament.

34% Dixie. You are definitely a Yankee.

I'm just a beginner with US accents. The way of speaking english learned in France is dubbed "Queen's English", so very british. I got a lot of "New England", but I don't know if it's quite logical ie do new-englander speak in a way close to british?

Well... Actually, it doesn't really matter as my accent is quite awfull... :biggrin:

Edited by Emp_Palpatine

I'm just a beginner with US accent. The way of speaking english learned in France is dubbed "Queen's English", so very british. I got a lot of "New England", but I don't know if it's quite logical ie do new-englander speak in a way close to british?

Well... Actually, it doesn't really matter as my accent is quite awfull... :biggrin:

Even though New Englanders don't sound English, their accent is probably phonetically related to an English one. I'm just guessing since I'm not a linguist...

"13% Dixie. Wow! You are a Duke of Yankeedom!"

Having lived in Massachusetts my whole life, I don't blame this.

That's eerie, 34% also, maybe it's a European thing?

55% Dixie. Barely in Dixie